The NVCA Leadership Gala celebrates the venture industry and honors those who have made significant contributions to foster innovation, advance technology and drive new company formation.

Panel 1


Lifetime Achievement in Venture Capital

The Lifetime Achievement in Venture Capital Award was created to recognize venture professionals who have dedicated their professional lives to creating and building successful and highly competitive venture firms as well as portfolio companies that have made a significant contribution to the growth and success of the U.S. economy.  Recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award were instrumental in the formation and growth of the venture capital industry and have consistently set high performance standards for the entire industry.


Pete Bancroft

Pete Bancroft
Bessemer Venture Partners

Outstanding Service

The Outstanding Service Award was created to recognize the exceptional service of an NVCA Director or NVCA member who has committed an extraordinary amount of time, resources and dedication to Association efforts that in turn benefits the entire venture industry.  The dedication has raised the visibility of the industry to key legislators and regulators and helped to educate them regarding the pivotal role of venture capital to this economy.


Ira Ehrenpreis - New

Ira Ehrenpreis
DBL Partners

American Spirit

The American Spirit Award was created to recognize NVCA members who have shown philanthropic leadership by applying business skills, knowledge, expertise and resources to make an outstanding contribution to society.


RoseAnn Rosenthal

RoseAnn Rosenthal
Ben Franklin Technology Partners of Southeastern Pennsylvania

Rising Star

The Rising Star Award was created to recognize the next generation of venture capital professionals who are rising through the ranks and establishing themselves as future standard bearers of the industry.  Recipients of the award have demonstrated a mastery of venture capital investing gleaned through a relatively short amount of time in the industry and are widely recognized by their peers and others as emerging leaders of the venture capital industry.


Nikhil Basu Trivedi

Nikhil Basu Trivedi
Shasta Ventures

NEA, Ali Behbahani

Ali Behbahani

Robin Li

Robin Li
GGV Capital

Excellence in Healthcare Innovation

For over three decades, venture capital has been at the forefront of some of the greatest advancements in medicine, pushing the boundaries of medical innovation and spurring the creation of the biotechnology and medical device industries.  The Excellence in Healthcare Innovation Award was created to recognize those who have demonstrated a clear commitment to the advancement of healthcare innovation through their investment in and support of groundbreaking medical companies that are working on treatments and cures for the most deadly and costly diseases.


William Link

Bill Link, PhD
Versant Ventures

Bob Nelsen

Bob Nelsen
ARCH Venture Partners

Sue Siegel

Sue Siegel
GE Ventures

Venture Firm of the Year

The Venture Firm of the Year Award was created to recognize venture capital firms for their significant contributions to advance the entrepreneurial ecosystem and generate returns for their investors.  Firms receiving the award are recognized for strong fund performance and high exit multiples for recent exits as well as activities to promote entrepreneurship and create a more diverse and inclusive ecosystem.


Arch Logo

Canaan Logo

True Ventures - Edited


Panel 2


Due to high demand, the 2018 Leadership Gala is SOLD OUT. If you want to join the waiting list, please email Allyson Chappell at

Members Non-Members
 $                                 800.00  $               1,000.00
Half Table (5 Seats) SOLD OUT
 $                             3,850.00  $               4,700.00
Full Table (10 Seats) SOLD OUT
 $                             7,500.00  $               9,000.00


Panel 3


Rosewood Sand Hill

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025

Panel 4



William Blair









Gunderson Dettmer Logo